Footbag club development/activities

General footbag-related topics that don't fit elsewhere go in here.
jsbeeson
Circle Kicker

Footbag club development/activities

Post by jsbeeson » 29 Sep 2014 14:09

Hello all. My name is Jordan and I'm a high school teacher. I've just started teaching at a new school, and once my students found out that I am decent at foot bag, they spearheaded the concept of having a school sponsored "hacky sack" club with me as the sponsor. This club has been fairly successful thus far in its infancy. We have about a dozen students that show up with a core of about seven, developed meeting times, as well as club rules, (i.e. 20 pushups for punting the hack, 5 for using hands, and 10 for self-serving, etc).

Aside from just circle hack and freestyle, what are some other activities that you guys would suggest to develop that is also school appropriate? I'm open to both foot bag and nonfootbag related activities. Ultimately, I would like to keep things "fresh" with the club, and would love to see how far we can take it.

Thank you for the responses in advance!
Cheers,
:idea:

F[uns]tylin' Eclectic
Post Master General

Re: Footbag club development/activities

Post by F[uns]tylin' Eclectic » 29 Sep 2014 21:50

Hey! Thanks for posting here :) I can really get behind you on this idea. I wish you were my gym teacher back in school. Anyway, I would have them try "footbag 4 square" (just google it and you'll find instructions). That game will teach them the basics of kicks, while also providing a fun game that they can progress in.

I must know where in the world this school is located. State and city? There could be a professional nearby who would he willing to help you teach them. Your students would love a guest appearance by a professional, I'm sure. There are intermediate to high level footbaggers all over the world, so chances are good that you have someone close enough to do a guest appearance.