Panel Number

Discuss your gear and stitching and shoe modification in here.
Vraidave
Shredaholic

Panel Number

Post by Vraidave » 27 Jan 2014 12:16

Now, I'm no footbag pro, but my freestyle game has been improving. I'm always looking to improve more. I like my metal filled bags, and I've heard that for good freestyle one should buy an 8 panel or a 32 panel. However right now, I'm using a 6 panel, and it seems to be treating me just fine. A friend of mine has a 14 panel, and it's wonderful. Anyways, like I said I'm no pro, but my 6 panel seems to work well enough. Is there really an important difference with the number of panels? If so, what is the difference?

Thanks a lot.

David.
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants" ~Isaac Newton

brianbear
Egyptian Footgod

Re: Panel Number

Post by brianbear » 27 Jan 2014 23:02

I have stitched and sold very many bags, and I do believe 32 panels is an unnecessary number for such a small bag. 14 panels are my new favorite. It is important that the stitcher knows how to use gather and bite (tightness and deepness of stitching) to create a round yet stally bag... Choosing proper fabrics for the stitching style is also pretty important... thicker hexes (fabric thickness) with thinner squares (or pents) will make a rounder bag while thinner hexes with thicker squares (or pents) will make a floppier bag. Other than that, the filler is pretty important like you mentioned. I also suppose the more panels, the longer the bag will last because of tension and surface area.
brian "bear" sherrill
buy my footbags
via freedom footbags
or on occasion (also for fabrics) thru modified

Vraidave
Shredaholic

Post by Vraidave » 28 Jan 2014 07:42

Alright, so you think I'd be fine buying something other than a boring ol' 32 panel? Thanks a million.
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants" ~Isaac Newton

brianbear
Egyptian Footgod

Post by brianbear » 28 Jan 2014 09:44