Troels' Footblog

Keep a diary of what you're hitting, what's frustrating you, and your goals.
Trolls
Circle Kicker

Troels' Footblog

Post by Trolls » 12 Jan 2014 12:39

Hey guys,
- My name is Troels. I come from Denmark and I just took up playing footbag late August 2013 again.
The first time I got an eye for footbag was on Roskilde Festival 2000 or 2001 - can't remember. I saw Mads Hole and Mads Neuhard play along with some other guys and was really facinated by their skills.
Me and a couple of guys then started playing in highschool on a very basic hacky sack level. Only kicks, toe- and inside stalls. Then I started playing barefeet because we always played in the summer time. I actually got alot better barefoot than playing with my lavers on so I just kept it up.
But my friend Andreas keps up with his lavers and started getting alot better than me. He could now do clippers, oses and butterflies while I was pretty much stuck at my learning and improving.
From that point I only played very rarely. None of my friends ever wanted to play with me in parks because they couldn't play as good as me (allthough I suck) and it was to exhausting.
So for then next decade or so I didn't learn any new tricks I just tried to maintain what little I could do.
Then on a vacation in Greece in 2013 I started playing barefeet again every day in a week and it was very rewarding. I found out that I could do stuff I didn't think I could and became hungry for more and started looking in to the community in Denmark.
I found the FootbagDenmark group on Facebook and learned that Nis (whom I knew and played a bit with in highschool) had just continiued shredding and had become quite the juggler.