Slapping / Tapping. ...Why?!

Talk about your big add moves and concepts in here.

Slapping and Tapping are necessary.

True.
40%
False.
23%
False.
23%
I'm a newbie. This is all meaningless to me.
13%

Total votes: 30

qphox
Bullshit Detector

Slapping / Tapping. ...Why?!

Post by qphox » 07 Aug 2003 17:30

Okay, I've got some major issues here.

First off, let's look at the Pixie and Fairy sets.

Pixie Mirage. That's a Smear, right? A Pixie opp Mirage. Seems obvious enough, seeing as the absence of an "ss" implies that the Mirage is done on the opposite side. This is always how I've understood how it works anyway.

Same goes for say...Fairy Drifter. Without saying "Fairy ss Drifter", it's automatically assumed that the Drifter is done with the other leg. It's just intuitive.

So what's the deal with Tapping and Slapping? Are these really necessary at all?

Quantum Mirage. To me, this is exactly the same as the Pixie Mirage up top. Why would I assume it to be an ss Mirage when there's no ss mentioned? So then, if that's the case, why not say, "Quantum ss Mirage" instead of "Slapping Mirage".

The exact same thing goes for Atomic Drifter. It's not ss if it doesn't say it is. Well hey look, it doesn't say it is! Therefore, not same side.

This bothered me the most when I read the thread Jeremy recently posted, the one that had him hitting the Quantum Paradon. Someone named it, "Slapping Paradon". Writing it this way makes NO SENSE. The fact that it's a Paradon already determines which leg it's set from and which does the dex. Quantum Paradon is just as clear as saying Slapping, and it doesn't require people to know yet another extranneous term.

So, after reading through this, if you're still convinced that the use of Slapping and Tapping is justifiable, then let me know why there aren't SS terms assigned to other sets, like Pixie and Fairy.