What exactly is footbag proper form?

General footbag-related topics that don't fit elsewhere go in here.
DimitriFrazao
Hack Fiend

What exactly is footbag proper form?

Post by DimitriFrazao » 27 Oct 2010 22:45

Newbie here.
What exactly does "proper form" means?

Is it having all the body parts in the proper position when performing a trick?
Is it style as well? The way you perform a move? The body's movement in relation to the bag's movement? Landing on your toes? All of them?

Sorry if that sounds like a stupid question... I was just wondering exactly what does it mean and if people agree to the same idea. I've seen it mentioned in many posts and I still don't fully understand it.
Maybe I didn't search enough :(

Thanks.

Jeremy
"Really unneccesary"

Post by Jeremy » 28 Oct 2010 03:02

I would say definitely all those things and more. In some ways I don't think "proper form" really exists, or at least is unattainable, because I'd call it hitting something perfectly.

In general it means hitting the move completely cleanly in the easiest possible way. However I would define "easiest" as for each component in isolation, rather than for the specific move. Easiest means not just hitting the trick, but hitting the trick out of and in to other tricks, and it means hitting it in a way that means hitting harder tricks will be easiest too. It means hitting it in the most parsimonious way (I use that word as an analogy, but I think it means exactly what I'm trying to say), for all other moves.

But of course if you look at many footbag moves, components or form ideas, there is not a consensus in the community, and it really does come down to subjective ideas. Two examples would be the debate about whether spinning sets above head height are good form or not, or a fairly intense debate I've been having lately with a footbagger who is much better than me about whether straight sets are good or not.