What is the culture in footbag?

For the new people coming into the sport, you can ask your questions in here.
The Awed Observer
Circle Kicker

What is the culture in footbag?

Post by The Awed Observer » 01 Mar 2006 11:36

I'm a student at a college doing a project where I have to intergrate myself into a culture I'm not familiar with. Recently I met someone who is in to footbag. I was amazed by all the stuff he had to say and the passion he has for the sport. Of course I had seen "hackey sack" in front of school, and being raised by hippies but I didn't realize how big, important, and interesting footbagging really is. From what I've been able to tell this is a really tight community and I'm interested in knowing how serious footbaggers feel about the sport, why this is a culture to you, how you feel about the footbagging community, and how footbagging has influenced your life. Thanks for taking a few moments of shredding time to help a clueless chick understand this amazing phenomenon

dazza
Flower Child

Post by dazza » 01 Mar 2006 12:05

meet up with this guy>get a bag>get lavers>practise kicks and stalls>
go to tournaments>practise more = join the madness :D
EASYKINKI

sen
Post Master General

Post by sen » 01 Mar 2006 12:13

I think the best way to find out why we love this sport so much is to start playing a bit.

Ask the person you talked to earlier if you can join them for a session or two. That will help you understand how much this sport has to offer. If you can check a tournament too, that will probably blow you away.

Zeb Jackson
Post Master General

Post by Zeb Jackson » 01 Mar 2006 13:06

I cant even begin to tell you how much EVERYBODY here is dedicated to footbagging! There are soo many people here that just live,breathe,talk,watch, and do everything, as footbag is apart of it!